Thinking of England

Last spring, I spend the semester in London, England where I attended Kingston University. It was an incredible experience that I’ll never forget. Before I left the U.S. all I heard was horror stories about the food in England, and while it’s true England doesn’t really have a rich culinary history I personally thought the food was amazing.

I’ve really been missing England the last couple of weeks and there are a couple of meals I miss dearly, kababs, curry and ham eggs and chips.I thought it might be a cool idea to try to make something that would remind me and my girlfriend (Who spent spring ’09 in the UK) of our times in London.

Kababs and curry are things that are a little hard to recreate here in the states, especially in my apartment here at school. Without a grill, the kababs just wouldn’t be the same and I can’t really afford to buy the dozens of spices I need to make curry. But I thought there’s no reason I can’t make ham, eggs and chips, my usual dinner on trivia nights at one of my favorite pubs, the Berry.

So I picked up some ham steaks, eggs and chunky chips (Steak fries) from the store and put together what I thought was a great dinner. I deep-fried the chips, and, for the first time in my life, made sunny side up eggs. If you look closely at the picture at the top, you can see the ham underneath the eggs. I think one of the reasons I like this meal so much is that I love breakfast, I LOVE IT. In England this is a normal dinner time meal, and who doesn’t love breakfast for dinner?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

