Hearty Fall Recipes

It’s time to put away your shorts and bring out the jeans and sweatshirts because the weather is finally starting to change for the fall. Sadly, this also means it’s time to retire the grill for the season and to start making some warm and delicious fall food.

Fall is my favorite season for a lot of reasons. There’s postseason baseball, the start of college and pro football, the cool weather and the leaves changing color. But fall always has been a great time for food in my house. In mid-October every year, my Mom starts going soup crazy and makes a variety of hot soups two or three times a week. Whether it’s her amazing chicken soup or her droolingly delicious potato soup, there’s nothing better than coming in from the cold and being greeted with a big bowl of hot soup. Since I’m at school and have a fully functional kitchen now I know I’m going to try to recreate some of these soups in the coming weeks.

To gear up for the fall I decided to look up some good soup recipes as well as a few other kinds of foods that make me think of fall.

– One of my favorites, Chicken corn chowder. The Newlyweds Blog has a good recipe.

– The best thing about homemade soups is that you can make them as chunky or as brothy as you want. This italian wedding soup from SillyRunner is about as chunky as it gets.

– I love beef and I love mushrooms so this beef stew recipe from Cook or be Eaten looks and sounds so good.

– Can you ever really have enough cheese? Drick’s Rambling Cafe says no with this 5 Cheese Chicken Broccoli Casserole.

– I’ve always been a bigger fan of New England Clam Chowder but I’m starting to love the Manhattan variety. For the Love of Cooking has a good recipe.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hearty Fall Recipes

  1. Sweet Pea says:

    Oh I love fall weather foods too, give me a big bowl of soup and I am one happy gal. Thanks for linking up the Chicken corn chowder.

Leave a Reply

